Classical Cafe:

Sunday: UT Symphony Features Russian Composers

I can think of no other nation, its people, and its history on Earth that can be described so successfully through music as Russia. From the heights of elation to the depths of depression, from opulence to squalor, from heroics to defeat--Russian music seems to touch all.

The University of Tennessee Symphony Orchestra concentrates on the music of Russian composers for its October concert--this Sunday evening at 7:30 pm. On the bill is: 

Mikhail Glinka: Overture to Ruslan und Ludmila 
Sergei Rachmaninoff: Vocalise, Op. 34 (Romance No. 14) 
Sergei Prokofiev: Lieutenant Kijé Suite, Op. 60 (Rachel Grubb, conductor) 
I. Birth of Kijé
II. Romance
III. Kijé's Wedding
IV. Troika
V. Burial of Kijé
Piotyr Ilyich Tchaikovsky: Overture Solennelle, Op. 49, "1812" 

As noted, Rachel Grubb will conduct the Prokofiev; James Fellenbaum, music director of the UT Symphony, will conduct the others.

Where: James R. Cox Auditorium in the Alumni Memorial Building on the UT Campus; 7:30 pm. The concert is FREE.

Comments » 0

Be the first to post a comment!

Share your thoughts

Comments are the sole responsibility of the person posting them. You agree not to post comments that are off topic, defamatory, obscene, abusive, threatening or an invasion of privacy. Violators may be banned. Click here for our full user agreement.

Remember personal info?

About This Blog

Alan Sherrod serves up a big plate of nourishing commentary on the Knoxville classical music and fine arts scene.